Skip to main content

Anniversary: 50 years since the first EFL Cup Wembley final

EFL Cup 50th anniversary - 8x6

EFL Cup winners come together to mark 50 Wembley finals


12:00 24th February 2017

by EFL

The EFL and The Times have come together to mark a landmark anniversary in the history of the EFL Cup.

It was 50 years ago that Third Division Queens Park Rangers found themselves two goals down to League Cup holders and top-flight outfit West Bromwich Albion in the first final to be held at Wembley Stadium, and it looked as though their heroic run had come to an end in front of almost 100,000 fans.

However, second half goals from Roger Morgan and Rodney Marsh pulled the Londoners level before winger Mark Lazarus tapped in the winning goal in Wembley's first ever League Cup final, sending half of the national stadium into a state of ecstasy.

“The feeling when I scored was pure elation, and that feeling afterwards is hard to put into words. The sunshine, the crowd, the game. It was just the perfect day,” said goalscorer Mark Lazarus.

There have been plenty of twists and turns on the famous Wembley pitch since, from Dennis Tueart’s spectacular winning goal for Manchester City in 1976, Luton Town shocking favourites Arsenal with a famous Brian Stein stoppage-time winner in ‘88, to Birmingham winning the trophy the same season they were relegated from the Premier League in 2011.

To commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the first League Cup Final held at Wembley, the EFL and The Times have come together by capturing a unique team photograph ahead of Sunday's EFL Cup final between Manchester United and Southampton.

The photograph includes one player from each of the winning Wembley teams spanning the past 50 years, including England manager Gareth Southgate, who first won the trophy with Aston Villa in 1996 after a 3-0 victory over Leeds United.

“The League Cup was the first trophy I ever won with Aston Villa and I have great memories of the competition,” Southgate said.

“Winning trophies and playing at Wembley was always something I wanted to do growing up and to have the honour of doing that was very, very special to me.”

Alongside Southgate and Lazarus were an array of current and former legends ranging from Pat Jennings to Martin Chivers, Brian McClair and Mick Harford who also joined the Wembley shoot to mark each of the 38 finals.

Why 38 and not 50? That's because some of the finals were played in Cardiff while Wembley was being redeveloped, and five finals went to a replay that were played elsewhere.

Proudly wearing their club scarves, the players gathered in the middle of the hallowed turf at Wembley whilst enjoying a rare opportunity to get together and share memorable stories and reminisce about their cup final victories. Click here to see how the day unfolded...

Who's who?

Back row (from left):

Steve Sutton - Nottingham Forest; Matt Elliott - Leicester City; Andy Gray - Wolverhampton Wanderers; John Richards - Wolverhampton Wanderers; Steve McManaman - Liverpool; Dean Saunders - Aston Villa; John Aldridge - Oxford United; Lee Bowyer - Birmingham City; Danny Wilson - Sheffield Wednesday; Gary Cahill - Chelsea.

Third row (from left):

Nigel Jemson - Nottingham Forest; Gary Birtles - Nottingham Forest; Alan Kennedy - Liverpool; Mark Lawrenson - Liverpool; Jordan Henderson - Liverpool; Les Ferdinand - Tottenham Hotspur; Eddie Gray - Leeds United; Darron Gibson - Manchester United; Ashley Williams - Swansea City.

Second row (from left):

Don Rogers - Swindon Town; Mick Harford - Luton Town; Willy Caballero - Manchester City; Vincent Kompany - Manchester City; Ledley King - Tottenham Hotspur; Pat Jennings - Tottenham Hotspur; Martin Chivers - Tottenham Hotspur; Brian McClair - Manchester United; John O’Shea - Manchester United; Paul Haylock - Norwich City.

Front row (from left):

Denis Smith - Stoke City; Mike Summerbee - Manchester City; Dennis Tueart - Manchester City; Graeme Le Saux - Chelsea; Gareth Southgate - Aston Villa; Ray Graydon - Aston Villa; Paul Merson - Arsenal; Kenny Sansom - Arsenal; Mark Lazarus - Queens Park Rangers.

    Related Articles